Experiment: Mark and I met on OkCupid and after some minor flirting back and forth we finally set a date to meet. I chose a wine bar in Murray Hill because frankly I don’t like travel far for first dates. Or for anything but that’s another story for another day. Mark walked into the bar right in front of me and I secretly prayed that he was not my date. Why? Oh because first of all his pants were about 2x tighter than mine, he had a ring on every other finger (both hands) and he looked about 5 years younger than his pictures. Well turns out, my first judgment of people is spot on because Mark admitted two things on the date – 1. He lied about his age and he was actually 24, not the 28 he had lied about in his profile. In his defense, he told me that in his About Me section he had said he lied about something in the above. I guess I didn’t notice that as a red flag. Oh and the real deal breaker 2) he thinks he might be gay.

Result: Mark texted me the next day saying he thought the date went well and did I agree. I said I did not agree because he should explore dating men if he thinks he might be gay and not involve me in the process. He would not accept this as an answer and told me I was shallow because I cleary was just upset that he lied about his age. Go figure…

